Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Q&A

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.

 

Pickup

Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
Written by: Emily Skrutskie Release Date: February 8, 2016 Pages: 288, hardcover Series: The Abyss Surrounds Us, #1 Add on GoodReads Thank you to Flux and NetGalley for the ARC! For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters ...
READ MORE
Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
Written by: Rick Riordan Release Date: From 2006 to 2009 Pages: 1,718 Total Series: #1 - The Lightening Thief. #2 - The Sea of Monsters. #3 - The Titans Curse. #4 - The Battle of ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Written by: Nicola Yoon Release Date: September 1, 2015 Pages: 320, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to Delacorte for the ARC! This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Written by: Cassandra Clare Release Date: March 8th 2016 Pages: 668, hardcover Series:The Dark Artifices #1 Add on GoodReads In a kingdom by the sea… In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman
Written by: Erin Bowman Release Date: September 1, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to HMH Books for Young Readers for the ARC! When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily
Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by
ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Q&A Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
ARC Review: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge