Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Q&A

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.

 

Pickup

Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
Written by: Jodi Meadows Release Date: March 10, 2015 Pages: 391, Hardback Series: The Orphan Queen, #1 Add on GoodReads Wilhelmina has a hundred identities. She is a princess. When the Indigo Kingdom conquered her homeland, Wilhelmina ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Written by: Cassandra Clare Release Date: March 8th 2016 Pages: 668, hardcover Series:The Dark Artifices #1 Add on GoodReads In a kingdom by the sea… In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray
Written by: Libba Bray Release Date: September 18, 2012 Pages: 578, Hardback Series: The Diviners, #1 Add on GoodReads Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Gena/Finn by Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson
Written by: Hannah Moskowitz and Kat Helgeson Release Date: April 5th 2016 Pages: 345, Hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads The story follows the unlikely friendship of two young women forged via fan fiction and message boards, ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
Written by: Rin Chupeco Release Date: March 7, 2017 Pages: 400, hardcover Series: The Bone Witch, #1 Add on GoodReads         A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Young Adult Book of Spring 2017! In the captivating start to a ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows
Q&A Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Book Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray
ARC Review: Gena/Finn by Hannah Moskowitz and Kat
ARC Review: The Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge