Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Q&A

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.

 

Pickup

Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Written by: Marie Lu Release Date: October 13, 2015 Pages: 424, Hardback Series: The Young Elites, #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to Penguin for the ARC! From New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes the second book ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Written by: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff Release Date: October 20, 2015 Pages: 608, Hardback Series: The Illuminae Files, #1 Add on GoodReads Thanks to RandomHouse for the ARC! This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Dreamology by Lucy Keating
Written by: Lucy Keating Release Date: April 12th 2016 Pages: 336, hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to Edelweiss for the ARC! Vibrantly offbeat and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel combines the unconventional romance of ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Written by: Jodi Meadows Release Date: April 5th 2016 Pages: 544, hardcover Series: The Orphan Queen, #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to Edelweiss for the ARC! Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies. HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed ...
READ MORE
BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY: As I Descended by Robin Talley
Written by: Robin Talley Release Date: September 6th 2016 Pages: 384, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads LINKS: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository   Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten are their ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu
ARC Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay
Book Review: Dreamology by Lucy Keating
ARC Review: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY: As I Descended by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge