Q&A Review: Take Me On by Katie McGarry

Q&A

Written by: Katie McGarry
Release Date: May 27th 2014
Pages: 577, hardcover
Series: Pushing the Limits, #4
Add on GoodReads

Book

Bonus novella included: Crossing the Line.

Acclaimed author Katie McGarry returns with the knockout new story of two high school seniors who are about to learn what winning really means.

Champion kickboxer Haley swore she’d never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can’t stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she’d stay away from. Yet he won’t last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her-fighting for her-is a shot at redemption. Especially since it’s his fault his family is falling apart. He can’t change the past, but maybe he can change Haley’s future.

Hayley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they’ll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

1) Best Part of this Book?

I really loved seeing West’s character, I knew in Crash Into You he had a lot more to his story, just like with Beth there was something really cool about her that made me interested. West had me interested. I wasn’t disappointed I loved seeing him grow into something that is so much more than she could be.

2) Favorite character?

Hmmm, I think in this one I really liked both West and Haley equally. I think that the two complemented each other so well. Obviously all of the couples complemented each other well, but I just loved the push and pull of these two.

3) Worst part of this book?

I really expected just a tiny bit more of Rachel and Isiah. I know we didn’t get much about the other couples after they were done. But with this being West’s story I expected to see something of her, more than just a couple scenes. Call me selfish. I wanted more. I love her okay.

4) Favorite Quote?

“Don’t think of it as falling. Think of it as jumping- with me.”

“How is jumping better?”

“Falling happens. Jumping you choose.”

5) Was it what’s expected?

I wasn’t sure if this book would include a lot of the other couples or if it would just wrap up with their story. While I was hoping that it would include the other characters I was really happy that West and Hailey got their full story told. I’m really happy for the two of them.

 

Pickup

 

So I binged this entire series so hard. I can’t even begin to recommend it to everyone. I’ve already made some friends read it and I will probably push this series on everyone who enjoys books like these. I know that I need so many more.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Mini Review: The Invention of Hugo Cabaret by Brian Selznick
Written by: Brian Selznick Release Date: April 1st 2007 Pages: 533, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Today is day one of a really fun weekend! I recently read all of Brian Selznick's books and ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: District Ballet Company Series by Katherine Locke
Written by: Katherine Locke Release Date: April 13, 2015 Series: District Ballet Company Four years ago, a car accident ended Zedekiah Harrow’s ballet career and sent Philadelphia Ballet principal dancer Alyona Miller spinning ...
READ MORE
Mini Review: Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah Andersen
Written by: Sarah Andersen Release Date: March 8, 2016 Pages: 112, Paperback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Are you a special snowflake? Do you love networking to advance your career? Have you never wasted a fresh ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Written by: Nicola Yoon Release Date: September 1, 2015 Pages: 320, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to Delacorte for the ARC! This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to ...
READ MORE
Mini Review: The Invention of Hugo Cabaret by
Q&A Review: District Ballet Company Series by Katherine
Mini Review: Adulthood is a Myth by Sarah
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge