Mini Review: Snow White: A Graphic Novel by Matt Phelan

MiniReviews

Written by: Matt Phelan
Release Date: September 13th 2016
Pages: 216, Hardback
Series: Standalone
Add on GoodReads

 

Book

Award-winning graphic novelist Matt Phelan delivers a darkly stylized noir Snow White set against the backdrop of Depression-era Manhattan.

The scene: New York City, 1928. The dazzling lights cast shadows that grow ever darker as the glitzy prosperity of the Roaring Twenties screeches to a halt. Enter a cast of familiar characters: a young girl, Samantha White, returning after being sent away by her cruel stepmother, the Queen of the Follies, years earlier; her father, the King of Wall Street, who survives the stock market crash only to suffer a strange and sudden death; seven street urchins, brave protectors for a girl as pure as snow; and a mysterious stock ticker that holds the stepmother in its thrall, churning out ticker tape imprinted with the wicked words “Another . . . More Beautiful . . . KILL.” In a moody, cinematic new telling of a beloved fairy tale, extraordinary graphic novelist Matt Phelan captures the essence of classic film noir on the page—and draws a striking distinction between good and evil.

Mini

 

I’m not completely sure where this review is going to go. Snow White was an amazing idea, it was an amazing concept with taking this classic story to the 1920’s. There were so many amazing ways to update the story into something that easily worked, in fact the ideas were so effortless that it made perfect sense. So in reality I should be gushing about this story, and in a way I am gushing about the way that the story worked, about the ideas that Phelan used to turn this story on it’s head. I loved the idea of the mirror being ticker tape, I loved the way the seven dwarves were brought into the story. I loved so many amazing plot ideas of this graphic novel that it’s insane.

So what was the problem? Well, often times I was confused. I couldn’t figure out on the art alone what was going on. I had a few pages sometimes where I gave up on the story and just moved along until I was able to see exactly what was going on again. I got the gist of the story, I understood what was going on, but I don’t feel like I got the full story that Phelan wanted to present.

Here’s where things get really interesting though, because I read an ARC the images were in low resolution, and they weren’t in color. Does that mean that when the finished copy comes out I’ll be able to follow each panel of the story? I’m not sure. I do know for sure that I’ll be picking up a finished copy to look at it. Because if this story does become much clearer then I am completely absolutely sold on this concept and idea.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead
Written by: Richelle Mead Release Date: February 10th 2015 Pages: 348, hardcover Series: Bloodlines, #6 A dd on GoodReads THEY WILL BE TESTED Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Fire’s Stone by Tanya Huff
Written by: Tanya Huff Release Date: October 3, 1990 Pages: 287, paperback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads THIEF, SWORDSMAN, AND WIZARDESS AARON. Clan Heir, he has fled his people when his beloved was slain by his own father's ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Soldier by Julie Kagawa
Written by: Julie Kagawa Release Date: April 26th 2016 Pages: 380, hardcover Series: Talon, #3 Add on GoodReads The price of freedom is everything. When forced to choose between safety with the dragon organization Talon and being ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: We Awaken by Calista Lynne
Written by: Calista Lynne Release Date: July 14, 2016 Pages: 180, e-book Series: standalone Add on GoodReads Thank you to Netgalley and Harmony Ink Press for the ARC! Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead
Book Review: The Fire’s Stone by Tanya Huff
Book Review: Soldier by Julie Kagawa
ARC Review: We Awaken by Calista Lynne
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie

One thought on “Mini Review: Snow White: A Graphic Novel by Matt Phelan

  1. That’s too bad! The cover is intriguing and I’ve been trying to get back into historical fiction and graphic novels, so I thought this might be a cool one for me. I’ll still check it out since you seemed to like parts of it, but I’ll keep your critiques in mind. Confusion’s definitely not a great thing in any story, and I like the art in my graphic novels to be really well done. We’ll see. Good review!

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge