BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY: As I Descended by Robin Talley

Displaying AS I Descended Banner.jpg

Written by: Robin Talley
Release Date: September 6th 2016
Pages: 384, hardcover
Series: standalone
Add on GoodReads
LINKS: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository

 

Book

Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten are their school’s ultimate power couple—even if no one knows it but them.

Only one thing stands between them and their perfect future: campus superstar Delilah Dufrey.

Golden child Delilah is a legend at the exclusive Acheron Academy, and the presumptive winner of the distinguished Cawdor Kingsley Prize. She runs the school, and if she chose, she could blow up Maria and Lily’s whole world with a pointed look, or a carefully placed word.

But what Delilah doesn’t know is that Lily and Maria are willing to do anything—absolutely anything—to make their dreams come true. And the first step is unseating Delilah for the Kingsley Prize. The full scholarship, awarded to Maria, will lock in her attendance at Stanford―and four more years in a shared dorm room with Lily.

Maria and Lily will stop at nothing to ensure their victory—including harnessing the dark power long rumored to be present on the former plantation that houses their school.

But when feuds turn to fatalities, and madness begins to blur the distinction between what’s real and what is imagined, the girls must decide where they draw the line.

From acclaimed author Robin Talley comes a Shakespeare-inspired story of revenge and redemption, where fair is foul, and foul is fair.

 

LetsTalk

I don’t think I’ve referenced this on here yet, but like almost any theater kid, I love Shakespeare, and Macbeth is my favorite of his plays. It’s a wonderful story that, one would assume, would be difficult to adapt. But setting it in an old Southern boarding school, replacing the witches with some of the creepiest spirits you have ever seen, and making Macbeth and Lady Macbeth an f/f couple are all pretty amazing ways to do so.

I’ve been a fan of Robin Talley’s since I read Lies We Tell Ourselves, but this is my favorite of her books so far. It’s scary and beautifully written, with characters who are sympathetic even as they make bad decisions. It does a good job preserving the themes of the original play, and all the deviations are exactly what the story needs to keep it flowing and have it make sense in modern times. Even with the changes, the story never loses its high stakes, and I appreciated that.

I should also note that the four main characters are all not straight–a (Mexican) bi girl, a (disabled) lesbian, and two gay guys (one of whom is fat and has anxiety; the other one is Mexican).

Even though it comes out about two months earlier, As I Descended is a perfect Halloween read that will make you want to crawl under the covers in fear and then make you cry.

Didn'tWork

Certain developments with Maria and Lily towards the middle of the book, while they felt natural with where the characters were going in general, also appeared a little abrupt. The change made sense, but it could have occurred more smoothly. Lily’s character arc in particular felt somewhat incomplete as a result.

A minor quibble is the police-are-incompetent-for-plot-convenience trope. The police in the story made some decisions that I did not find believable at all.

DidWork

I wasn’t expecting to love the supernatural aspect of this book so much–I was more focused on the “f/f Macbeth” thing–but it ended up being a high point for me. Every scene where the ghosts appear or speak feels appropriately horror-movie-ish in the best way possible. A certain scene in Lily’s bedroom made me want to never sleep again. Robin Talley uses Mexican mythology to develop the ghosts, which makes sense with Maria’s character and gives the story another layer.

As I Descended features multiple POVs, and all the narrators are fleshed out. The motivations are very believable, which can be tricky with a story as…well…murder-y as this one. I particularly loved Lily’s voice–her rational and ruthless thought process, how her disability and sexuality motivated her actions, her fierce love for Maria even as she disagrees with some of her decisions. Lily is the ideal modern adaptation of Lady Macbeth. And I loved Maria, whose conflict always felt believable and whose decisions I completely understood. Without giving away too much, her ending is a small deviation from the original end of the play, but perfect for this story.

There are small nods to the original play throughout this book that were a lot of fun for me. For example, a game exists where the player has to put items that were mentioned in the witches’ scene into a cauldron. I thought that was a pretty cool addition.

I heard someone say that reading this book felt like watching the original play, and I agree. Robin Talley nails the atmosphere perfectly, and her writing is top-notch. As I Descended was just the right mix of new and old material, and I can’t wait for all of you to get the chance to read it.

Pickup

Definitely! Complicated messy teens + ghosts + good representation = a fantastic book.

Sondra

ABOUT ROBIN TALLEY:

I live in Washington, D.C., with my wife, our baby daughter, an antisocial cat and a goofy hound dog. Whenever the baby’s sleeping, I’m probably busy writing young adult fiction about queer characters, reading books, and having in-depth conversations with friends and family about things like whether Jasmine’s character motivation was sufficiently established in Aladdin.

My website is at http://www.robintalley.com, and I’m on Twitter and Tumblr.
LINKS: Website | Twitter Facebook | Tumblr

Tour Schedule:

Week 1:
 
Week 2:

 

Giveaway:

3 Finished Copies of AS I DESCENDED (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen
Written by: Jenn P. Nguyen Release Date: June 7th 2016 Pages: 336, paperback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Taylor Simmons is screwed. Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Written by: Adam Silvera Release Date: January 17, 2017 Pages: 320, hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo ...
READ MORE
ARC Mini Review: Defying Doomsday Anthology
Edited by: Tsana Dolichva, Holly Kench Release Date: May 31st, 2016 Pages: 432, Paperback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   Teens form an all-girl band in the face of an impending comet. A woman faces giant spiders ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Written by: Laini Taylor Release Date: March 28, 2017 Pages: 544, hardcover Series: Strange the Dreamer, #1 Add on GoodReads         new epic fantasy by National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Way to Game the Walk
ARC Review: History is All You Left Me
ARC Mini Review: Defying Doomsday Anthology
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
ARC Review: Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY: As I Descended by Robin Talley

  1. Excellent review! Now I know more about this book and it sounds very unique to me. I wonder if I’ll have the same police issues as you did–especially these days when being a police officer is even more dangerous.

  2. I am very much looking forward to checking this one out. I love that it is a retelling of Macbeth, and it seems like it is a good one. That can’t be an easy feat, so I am thoroughly excited for this one!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge