TheStarTouchedQueen

Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

BookReview

Written by: Roshani Chokshi
Release Date: April 26th 2016
Pages: 342, hardcover
Series: Standalone, but with a companion novel coming.
Add on GoodReads

Book
For fans of The Princess Bride comes the comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey.

Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger—and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But that’s the least of Jane’s problems. She’s about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.

LetsTalk

Okay so The Star-Touched Queen. I blasted through this one and finished it on this crazy high of just loving and adoring it and wanting everyone to read it. Then came time and patience, and the ability to go back over the book. I’m not sure what it is exactly that changed my mind from loving this book to saying that it’s pretty great but not as amazing as I thought it was.

Is it because I’ve read a lot of books between reading this one and then sitting down to write the review? Is it because I wasn’t ever entirely sold on the second half of the book and since reading it that has gone down even more? Is it because I’ve talked to people who didn’t like the book and have realized some flaws in it?

The answer to all of these questions is: Probably.

But let’s see if we can actually dig into this book and figure things out.

Didn'tWork

The second half of the book always felt jarringly different. I understood that our main character went through a life altering experience, that she completely changed. But for some reason, as the reader, I didn’t feel the same change. I understood I was supposed to feel the change, and I went with it. I let Maya lead the way and read the story. But the emotional connection I’d felt to the first half of the book was rather damaged. I didn’t completely believe all of it.

I also think that I had a bit of a preconceived notion going into the book that this was going to be a Hades/Persephone story. Which it kinda was, kinda wasn’t. I think I was expecting a little bit more of a rebelling than what I got.

DidWork

I really did love the twists and turns that the plot itself took. I think that the storytelling was really unique, and I think that’s what sold me on the book in the first place. I love books of dual lives, but I wish that there had been more here. Hence the disconnect to the second half of the book.

The characters of this book were absolutely fantastic. I loved each and every one of them, from brooding, hurt Amar to our dear killer horse. They all really came alive for me, I really felt like I got to know them, and it connected me to the story. It led me to love them and root for them. But then, alas I wasn’t able to follow these dear characters through more growth and…yeah.

The prose. Holy moly. I am a sucker for amazing prose. Give me a well crafted book and you will have a very happy, happy Sondra. This book has those amazing words in spades and I just cannot get enough of them.

Pickup

At the end of the day, The Star-Touched Queen was a good book. I enjoyed it, and I’m happy to have it on my shelves. Perhaps I need to reread it, go over that middle section again when I’m not going crazy for the answers just out of reach. Maybe I’ll connect with the characters and love the book far more than I did.

 

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan
Written by: Sara Farizan Release Date: October 7, 2014 Pages: 304, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
Written by: Patrick Ness Release Date: August 27, 2015 Pages: 352, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thank you to Harper Collins for the ARC! What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to ...
READ MORE
Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
Written by: Rick Riordan Release Date: From 2006 to 2009 Pages: 1,718 Total Series: #1 - The Lightening Thief. #2 - The Sea of Monsters. #3 - The Titans Curse. #4 - The Battle of ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro
Written by: Brittany Cavallaro Release Date: March 1st, 2016 Pages: 336, Hardcover Series: Charlotte Holmes, #1 Add on GoodReads The last thing sixteen-year-old Jamie Watson–writer and great-great-grandson of the John Watson–wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush
ARC Review: The Rest of Us Just Live
Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by
ARC Review: A Study in Charlotte by Brittany
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge