Q&A Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Q&A

Written by: Maggie Stiefvater
Release Date: April 26th, 2016
Pages: 438, hardcover
Series: The Raven Cycle, #4
Add on GoodReads

Book

Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey…and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path

1) Best Part of this Book?

My favorite two things about The Raven Cycle have always been the characters and the atmosphere. The characters are so complex and human and unique and I love where they all ended up, and don’t even talk to me about the relationships. THEY ALL LOVE EACH OTHER SO MUCH and it’s clear both in the small moments and the big ones. And the writing and imagery are gorgeous without being overdone, and this book in particular had a horror movie vibe that I enjoyed even as I was internally screaming. 

Also, I swear to god reading TRK made my brain start releasing endorphins. I don’t know how else to explain it–during the happier scenes, I just remember sitting there in my chair and letting the words float over me and feeling so content and at peace, which is quite a feat since my finals are a week from now.

ALSO that one kiss. And that other kiss. If you’ve been paying any attention at all to the fandom, you can probably guess which one I mean.

ALSO ALSO Blue and Ronan fistbumped. Twice. That was pretty great.

2) Favorite character?

I LOVE ADAM PARRISH MORE THAN ANYTHING IN THIS LIFE I WILL CHOOSE HIS HAPPINESS OVER MINE EVERY TIME and I am so, so proud of how far he’s come and the choices he made and where he ended up. 

Ronan is a close second, though. And re: newer characters, Henry Cheng is a gift.

3) Worst part of this book?

As much as I enjoy Piper, I really, really did not care about her backstory or the scenes with her and the supernatural-things-market. I enjoyed those chapters, but I always found myself wanting to return to the actual story.

Not a flaw of the book itself, but I do wish Henry had been around earlier in the series, so that we could see his dynamic with the rest of the Raven Boys and his friendship with Gansey had more narrative backing.

4) Favorite Quote?

Most of my favorite quotes are spoilers, but

“Adam smiled cheerily. Ronan would start wars and burn cities for that true smile, elastic and amiable.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I was worried that, given how long I had to wait for the book, it wouldn’t live up to expectations. As it turned out, this book was everything I could have hoped for and more. In terms of specific predictions, I didn’t make any because I knew they would be wrong, but certain things that happened in the book are ones I could never have guessed. 

Pickup

YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES

Polina 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Under the Lights by Dahlia Adler
Written by: Dahlia Adler Release Date: June 23, 2015 Pages: 312, Paperback Series: Daylight Falls #2 Add on GoodReads Josh Chester loves being a Hollywood bad boy, coasting on his good looks, his parties, his parents' wealth, and ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
Written by: Emily Skrutskie Release Date: February 8, 2016 Pages: 288, hardcover Series: The Abyss Surrounds Us, #1 Add on GoodReads Thank you to Flux and NetGalley for the ARC! For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
Written by: Katie McGarry Release Date: May 26th 2015 Pages: 496, hardcover Series: Thunder Road #1 Add on GoodReads An unforgettable new series from acclaimed author Katie McGarry about taking risks, opening your heart and ending ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh
Written by: Julie Eshbaugh Release Date: June 7, 2016 Pages: 384, hardcover Series: Ivory and Bone, #1 Add on GoodReads A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice. Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe—that’s the life seventeen-year-old ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
Book Review: Under the Lights by Dahlia Adler
ARC Review: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily
Q&A Review: Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry
ARC Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge