Q&A Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

Q&A

Written by: V. E. Schwab
Release Date: February 23rd 2016
Pages: 512, hardcover
Series: Shades of Magic, #2
Add on GoodReads

Book

It has been four months since a mysterious obsidian stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Prince Rhy was wounded, and since the nefarious Dane twins of White London fell, and four months since the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift – back into Black London.

Now, restless after having given up his smuggling habit, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks as she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Games – an extravagant international competition of magic meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countries – a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

And while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night will reappear in the morning. But the balance of magic is ever perilous, and for one city to flourish, another London must fall.

1) Best Part of this Book?

V. E. Schwab’s writing is something that is so masterful. It’s something that I don’t even know how to express properly. It’s not prose heavy like some books but it simply is. The characters feel real, and they let me escape into their heads for a few hours.

2) Favorite character?

Is there ever an answer here that isn’t Lila Bard? C’mon guys.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ending. I just. Nope. Not getting into it.

4) Favorite Quote?

“She bent most of the rules. She broke the rest.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

In some ways yes, in other ways no. I expected a whirlwind magical adventure, which I totally got. But also feelings? Excitement? Balls? Magical fights? Like the plot of A Darker Shade of Magic was so intense I was expecting this huge thrilling ride of insanity, and it wasn’t like that, but it was so so so good.

Pickup

If you haven’t read A Darker Shade of Magic GET TO THE BOOKSTORE. If you HAVE read A Darker Shade of Magic and haven’t read A Gathering of Shadows GET TO THE BOOKSTORE.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
Written by: Roshani Chokshi Release Date: April 26th 2016 Pages: 342, hardcover Series: Standalone, but with a companion novel coming. Add on GoodReads Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the ...
READ MORE
BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY: As I Descended by Robin Talley
Written by: Robin Talley Release Date: September 6th 2016 Pages: 384, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads LINKS: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks | The Book Depository   Maria Lyon and Lily Boiten are their ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Written by: Marie Lu Release Date: October 13, 2015 Pages: 424, Hardback Series: The Young Elites, #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to Penguin for the ARC! From New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes the second book ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Mini Review: Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
Written by: Brian Selznick Release Date: September 13th 2011 Pages: 640, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
BLOG TOUR and GIVEAWAY: As I Descended by
ARC Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
Mini Review: Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick

2 thoughts on “Q&A Review: A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab

  1. When I finished this, I was like “THAT’S IT, I NEED MORE!”. Then again I did see that cliffhanger coming, but I just need the next book asap. I’m sad I have to wait a year for A Conjuring Of Light 🙁

    I’m glad you enjoyed this as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge