ARC Review: Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray

Written by: Libba Bray
Release Date: August 25 2015
Pages: 624, Hardback
Series: The Diviners, #2
Add on GoodReads
Thanks to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and NetGalley for the e-ARC!!!

Book

After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, Evie O’Neill has outed herself as a Diviner. Now that the world knows of her ability to “read” objects, and therefore, read the past, she has become a media darling, earning the title, “America’s Sweetheart Seer.” But not everyone is so accepting of the Diviners’ abilities…

Meanwhile, mysterious deaths have been turning up in the city, victims of an unknown sleeping sickness. Can the Diviners descend into the dreamworld and catch a killer?

LetsTalk

Okay y’all. Lair of Dreams time. Guh, this book. I’ve waited so long for this book that the waiting just kind of became a normal way of life. “Oh yeah remember that Diviners book? *Looks into the abyss of unknown time to wait*” It kept feeling like that book got pushed, and pushed, and pushed. Now, I know Libba was having health issues and there was a myriad of great reasons for it to get pushed. I wasn’t really upset with the pushing; moreso just letting the days pass in which I waited for the book.

Then the thing happened. The date didn’t change. The book got arcs. Lair of Dreams became something that was tangible and real, and actually happening! My little Diviners were officially coming to stores and into my waiting hands! Boy, oh boy, though. I don’t want to say it, but really, it was worth the wait. It was so fantastically amazing that I’m really glad that Libba took whatever time she needed to make this book as amazing and wonderful as it is now.

To say I loved Lair of Dreams is an understatement. We got to meet new characters, we got to know other characters who were more minor in the first book, or maybe just a passing mention that no one will even remember after all these years. Not one of the now seven main characters was ignored (which is a feat alone) and also allows for more understanding of that 624 page count.

Didn'tWork

I think for me about the one thing that didn’t work was how some of our characters from Diviners didn’t quite get enough screen time. Yes I know, we’re already talking about a giant book. But, at the end of the day I would’ve liked to see some more time with Evie especially. Her arc in this book is great, but I would’ve just liked some more time with her to sew up a few things. Of course that’s a bit of a running theme in these books, everything is answered, and yet nothing is answered.

DidWork

Lair of Dreams was such a solid book, one of the most solid I’ve read in a very long time. Plots were opened and closed, characters were treated perfectly. The mystery was insane, I think I liked it more than Naughty John from the last book. I was guessing the entire time; we had so much information and then it just felt like we needed one more little tiny puzzle piece and this whole thing would come together and TADA ANSWERS, but where the hell was that tiny little piece?? It was so fantastic. I was left scrambling the entire time.

And then let’s talk about that last 15% of the book or so? I was actually in a car with my family going on vacation. To say they were worried about my mental health because of the sounds I was making is a vast understatement. I was so worried about all of the characters. With The Diviners I don’t have that security that all of my main character loves will come home at the end of the day. There’s seven main characters, Libba could kill one off so easy. It’s honestly one of the most terrifying things about the book because I love them all so much. Libba does such a fantastic job creating unique characters that they’re all so different and each have their own wants and dreams. I just want happiness for them all.

Pickup

At the end of the day yes Lair of Dreams took FOREVER AND A DAY to get to our waiting hands, but y’know what? It was worth it, because Lair of Dreams was fantastic, and solid, and just all around a great, great book. So, if you’ve read The Diviners you’ve undoubtedly been waiting like the rest of us, and you’ll dive on this book as soon as you can, with the assurance that it will be as fantastic as you hoped. If you haven’t read The Diviners then you’d better hop on out to a bookstore and get it ASAP because even though it’s long you need it in your life. Need. It.

Sondra

Other Posts You Might Like
Q&A Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
Written by: Maggie Stiefvater Release Date: April 26th, 2016 Pages: 438, hardcover Series: The Raven Cycle, #4 Add on GoodReads Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted. For years, Gansey has been on a quest ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
Written by: Jeff Garvin Release Date: February 2, 2016 Pages: 352, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh
Written by: Renee Ahdieh Release Date: April 26th 2016 Pages: 420, hardcover Series: The Wrath and the Dawn, #2 Add on GoodReads The darker the sky, the brighter the stars. In a land on the brink of war, ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Serpentine by Cindy Pon
Written by: Cindy Pon Release Date: September 8, 2015 Pages: 300, hardcover Series: Kingdom of Xia, #1 Add on GoodReads Thank you to Month9Books for the ARC! Inspired by the rich history of Chinese mythology, this sweeping fantasy is set ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater
Q&A Review: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff
ARC Review: The Rose and the Dagger by
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
ARC Review: Serpentine by Cindy Pon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge