Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

 

BookReview

Written by: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 3rd 2016
Pages: 640, hardcover
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2
Add on GoodReads

Book
Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

LetsTalk

I am going to veer off from our normal way of writing reviews for this one. I’m not gonna talk about what didn’t work and what did work, because this book…It’s just so much more than that. It’s been a long time since a book has worked its way into my very soul. But I’m here to tell you A Court of Mist and Fury is now printed on my soul.

I listened to this book on audio, at first it was because of the fact that I was cleaning, but then it simply became such a powerful way to just dive into this story that I couldn’t bring myself to read the physical book. I just would lay on the couch, and simply watch the ceiling and listen. This story was one that was so much more than I ever expected. I didn’t dive in for such a long time because I feared love triangles, and more problems like what Queen of Shadows had (Yes it was a great book, but it had problems, let’s be honest here).

At the start of the book we meet such a different person than we left in A Court of Thorns and Roses. She’s broken, she’s dealing with PTSD, she’s hurting. You want to cheer for her to break through these chains, but depression is so much more than that, and the way that Maas writes it? It crushed me, because it felt so real. It felt like I’d lived it all myself and sometimes I didn’t even see the way out.

While I know many have said that Tamlin changed drastically in this book, he really didn’t. As soon as I finished A Court of Mist and Fury, I downloaded A Court of Thorns and Roses audiobook to listen to. Mostly because I couldn’t just put Mist and Fury on my shelf and walk away. But as I listened to Thorns and Roses I realized Tamlin didn’t change at all, all of the possessive annoying traits were all here in this book. I as the reader and Feyre as the narrator both overlook them, blaming the fact that he is Fae, or High Lord. We both allow things to slip because of the moments when he is wonderful and loving and beautiful. But all of those abusive possessive moments? Oh they’re here. Now I roll my eyes so hard at him, it’s not even funny.

Rhysand in the first book is cold, calculating, but there’s this hint that maybe he’s something more. Maybe there’s something else under that High Lord’s mask. Mist and Fury takes his mask and throws it away. Rhys is so much more than I ever gave him credit for. I didn’t trust him anymore than Feyre did at the start of the book, and just like her he won me over.

I don’t feel like this book has a love triangle. I feel like there’s a linear love story, that gets distracted. But isn’t that how real life is? Sometimes you think you’re with the right guy only to realize you’re not? That guy that you love and trusted turns around and hurts you? The fact that Maas doesn’t shy away from things that are so realistic, and this time handles them so beautifully… Well to say I’d choose this series over Throne of Glass any day is almost an understatement.

The story told within these pages is a beautiful and romantic and amazing wonderful story. I don’t know how anyone could put something so amazing together into pages. But I do know that this series is now in my all time favorites. I am so glad that I got to read it. So so glad.

I need that third book though. I will say that. Because wow that ending. Because wow Maas can take a book a million places within one book. Because holy shit I don’t know where anything is going to go from here, but I can’t wait to get that book in my hands and see everything for myself.

Sondra

ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Written by: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Pages: 432, hardcover
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Add on GoodReads
My eternal thanks to NetGalley and Bloomsbury for this e-ARC!

Book
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

LetsTalk

I have been avoiding this review for a while, not because it was bad but because I simply don’t know what to say about this book. It was…the most amazing book. Seriously. I’ve always had a love of Beauty and the Beast, it’s been my go to movie when I’m sick for years. I watched it until my VHS broke, and then I got it for my birthday on DVD and I cherish it. I absolutely adore that movie, so finding out that A Court of Thorns and Roses was going to be a high fantasy Beauty and the Beast retelling? Oh I was down for it. Which isn’t even including the fact that it’s Sarah J. Maas. I only started reading her books this past summer and she quickly wound up on that list of authors that I will read anything she ever publishes, because wow can she write a story. This one is no different at all. Because in short? This book was epic. Truly. And I don’t even know what words to use for this review. That aren’t simply tears and images of me shoving this book into your hands.

Continue reading