BLOG TOUR: Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

kowteam

Written by: Kerri Maniscalco
Release Date: September 20th 2016
Pages: 336, hardcover
Series: Untitled Trilogy, #1
Goodreads   |   Amazon   |   Barnes & Noble   |  Indiebound

 

AAHHH!! I’m so excited to be part of this blog tour!! Stalking Jack the Ripper was such an absolutely amazing book. I cannot wait for everyone to go get their copy and read it. Then you can message me and scream with me about how amazingly great it is!
Book

 

Seventeen-year-old Audrey Rose Wadsworth was born a lord’s daughter, with a life of wealth and privilege stretched out before her. But between the social teas and silk dress fittings, she leads a forbidden secret life.

Against her stern father’s wishes and society’s expectations, Audrey often slips away to her uncle’s laboratory to study the gruesome practice of forensic medicine. When her work on a string of savagely killed corpses drags Audrey into the investigation of a serial murderer, her search for answers brings her close to her own sheltered world.

The story’s shocking twists and turns, augmented with real, sinister period photos, will make this dazzling debut from author Kerri Maniscalco impossible to forget.

LetsTalk

I was quite literally the first person to pounce on Little Brown at TLA to get my hands on Stalking Jack the Ripper, I was so excited to read this one I couldn’t wait to read it when I got home. I’ve always been just slightly obsessed with Jack the Ripper, Probably slightly more than I should’ve been if I’m being quite honest. I had very high expectations for this book, while it didn’t meet every single be of my expectations, I was so thrilled with this book overall, I can’t.

I am so excited that it has been announced that this book is going to be continued as a trilogy, I’m not sure where it’s going to go, which that alone has me super excited. What I really loved was that the characters were so unique. They really had their own voices and made me as the reader fall head over heels in love with them all.

Didn'tWork
So here’s the thing, I love mysteries, I love watching them, I love reading them. Unfortunately because of that I wind up picking up on a lot of tropes. In Stalking Jack the Ripper I was decently easy to pick up both of the large plot twists, but the amazing part of this? It didn’t take anything away from my experience of this book. Yes I knew whodunit. But it didn’t change anything.

I wanted something from Thomas’ point of view. I loved him as a character, he was so interesting, and his mind worked so amazingly, I fell in love with him as Audrey Rose did. I wanted to get into his head and see a chapter from his POV. I think it would’ve helped us as the reader to get a little closer to this character. But really he was a wonderful person overall.

DidWork

This book was sold on it’s twisting of actual fact with Manscalo’s own story. It was sold by these characters. It was sold by the simple way that it all worked together in this absolutely amazing wonderful quirky way.

I think that this book is totally one I’m going to suggest to people who don’t normally read YA, not because of its amazing mystery, but because it is something that is easily accessible to people. I think that a lot of people could get into the way that Jack the Ripper was reimagined. It became something far more than I expected as it rolled along, which is something that I really think a lot of people could enjoy.

I really loved the humor in this book, oh my god the wit and humor was so great. Audrey Rose and Thomas had such great interactions that had me actually laughing out loud. I think the two of them worked so well as both a duo to solve murders, but also as a couple. I can’t wait to see where they go next.

Pickup

I absolutely think that you need to give this one a shot. Don’t go into it expecting a huge mystery. But expect something that is an amazing retelling of history.

Sondra

Be sure you also follow Kerri and learn all you can about this amazing series before it’s released!

Twitter   |  Facebook   |   Instagram   |   Website   |   Tumblr   |   Pinterest

stalking jack blog tour

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow
Written by: Erin Bow Release Date: September 22, 2015 Pages: 384 Series: Prisoners of Peace, #1 Add on GoodReads The world is at peace, said the Utterances. And really, if the odd princess has a hard ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan
Written by: Sara Farizan Release Date: October 7, 2014 Pages: 304, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which ...
READ MORE
Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Written by: Patrick Ness Release Date: September 27, 2011 Pages: 205, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. But it isn't the monster Conor's been expecting. He's been expecting the one ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Mini ARC Review: George by Alex Gino
Written by: Alex Gino Release Date: August 25, 2015 Pages: 240, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to Scholastic for the ARC! BE WHO YOU ARE. When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush
Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
Mini ARC Review: George by Alex Gino

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge