Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Q&A

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.

 

Pickup

Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Leveller by Julia Durango
Written by: Julia Durango Release Date: June 23, 2015 Pages: 256, Hardback Series: The Leveller, #1 Add on GoodReads Nixy Bauer is a self-made Leveller. Her job? Dragging kids out of virtual reality and back to their parents ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Dare You To by Katie McGarry
Written by: Katie McGarry Release Date: May 28th 2013 Pages: 456, hardcover Series: Pushing the Limits, #4 Add on GoodReads Ryan lowers his lips to my ear. "Dance with me, Beth." "No." I whisper the reply. I ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Written by: Marie Lu Release Date: October 13, 2015 Pages: 424, Hardback Series: The Young Elites, #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to Penguin for the ARC! From New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes the second book ...
READ MORE
Mini-Review: All-American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely
Written by: Jason Reynolds, Brendon Kiely Release Date: September 29, 2015 Pages: 316, hardcover Add on GoodReads In an unforgettable new novel from award-winning authors Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely, two teens—one black, one white—grapple with ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
Written by: Charlie Jane Anders Release Date: January 26th, 2016 Pages: 320, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads Thank you to Tor Books for the ARC! From the editor-in-chief of io9.com, a stunning novel about the ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Leveller by Julia Durango
Q&A Review: Dare You To by Katie McGarry
ARC Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu
Mini-Review: All-American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan
ARC Review: All the Birds in the Sky

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge