Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Q&A

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.

 

Pickup

Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Guest Review – Jedi Academy: A New Class by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
Written by: Jarrett J. Krosoczka Release Date: July 26th 2016 Pages: 176, hardcover Series: Jedi Academy, #4 Add on GoodReads   Victor Starspeeder is psyched to be starting school at the Jedi Academy. His sister, Christina ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: We Awaken by Calista Lynne
Written by: Calista Lynne Release Date: July 14, 2016 Pages: 180, e-book Series: standalone Add on GoodReads Thank you to Netgalley and Harmony Ink Press for the ARC! Victoria Dinham doesn’t have much left to look ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson
Written by: Brandon Sanderson Release Date: August 31, 2010 Pages: 1008, hardcover Series: The Stormlight Archive #1 Add on GoodReads Speak again the ancient oaths, Life before death. Strength before weakness. Journey before Destination. and return to men the ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: District Ballet Company Series by Katherine Locke
Written by: Katherine Locke Release Date: April 13, 2015 Series: District Ballet Company Four years ago, a car accident ended Zedekiah Harrow’s ballet career and sent Philadelphia Ballet principal dancer Alyona Miller spinning ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa
Written by: Julie Kagawa Release Date: Oct 27th 2015 Pages: 384, Paperback Series: The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #3 Add on GoodReads The Iron Prince—my nephew—betrayed us all. He killed me. Then, I woke up. Waking after a ...
READ MORE
Guest Review – Jedi Academy: A New Class
ARC Review: We Awaken by Calista Lynne
Book Review: The Way of Kings by Brandon
Q&A Review: District Ballet Company Series by Katherine
Book Review: The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge