Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes


Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads


This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.



Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.


Other Posts You Might Like
Mini Review: Ms. Marvel 1-11
Written by: G. Willow Wilson, Adrian Alphona, Jacob Wyatt Release Date: No Normal: October 20, 2014. Generation Why: April 7, 2015. Pages: No Normal: 120. Generation Why: 136. Series: Ms. Marvel (Marvel NOW!), #1, #2 No Normal: GoodReads Generation Why: ...
Book Review: The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa
Written by: Julie Kagawa Release Date: Oct 27th 2015 Pages: 384, Paperback Series: The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #3 Add on GoodReads The Iron Prince—my nephew—betrayed us all. He killed me. Then, I woke up. Waking after a ...
Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan
Written by: Rick Riordan Release Date: From 2010 to 2014 Pages: 2,777 Total Series: #1 - The Lost Hero. #2 - The Son of Neptune. #3 - The Mark of Athena. #4 - The House of Hades. ...
Mini Review: Snow White: A Graphic Novel by Matt Phelan
Written by: Matt Phelan Release Date: September 13th 2016 Pages: 216, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   Award-winning graphic novelist Matt Phelan delivers a darkly stylized noir Snow White set against the backdrop of Depression-era ...
Mini Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
Written by: Neil Gaiman Release Date: October 23rd 2014 Pages: 69, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   A thrillingly reimagined fairy tale from the truly magical combination of author Neil Gaiman and illustrator Chris Riddell ...
Mini Review: Ms. Marvel 1-11
Book Review: The Iron Warrior by Julie Kagawa
Series Review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians by
Mini Review: Snow White: A Graphic Novel by
Mini Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge