Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Q&A

Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: July 7th 2015
Pages: 372, hardcover
Series: The Fixer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars.

Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather’s ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess’s classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

1) Best Part of this Book?

The fact that this book was absolutely NOTHING like I expected. My friend got me to read this series after her screaming text messages to me over The Long Game. But when I started The Fixer I was expecting a teenager who fell into “Fixing” friends problems, something that was simple and probably fun. What I wasn’t expecting was the book that I got. A fast paced, thrilling amazing experience that had me utterly guessing from page 10 until the very end.

2) Favorite character?

Gotta be Ivy. I related to her on a huge level, especially when we found out her whole backstory. I don’t want to get into spoilers but she was just a precious angel who I wanted to protect.

3) Worst part of this book?

The ship man. Or lack thereof. The groundwork was all there… BUT GIVE ME KISSING OR GIVE ME DEATH.

4) Favorite Quote?

“I’d tell you that you can’t stay mad forever,” Ivy commented, “but I’m pretty sure you’d take that as a challenge.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

I really already talked about this but oh hell no. Such an amazing thrilling crazy ride and I don’t even know where to start with how much I loved and adored and just like wow. It was a total wow book. I couldn’t wait to dive right into the second book and see exactly where this goes.

 

Pickup

Absolutely! Give this one a try and see what you think of it! I was really surprised by it and honestly? I was glad to be so surprised.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan
Written by: Sara Farizan Release Date: October 7, 2014 Pages: 304, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Ebenezer by JoSelle Vanderhooft
Written by: JoSelle Vanderhooft Release Date: December 13, 2013 Pages: 280, Paperback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   It's Christmas Eve in the city that never sleeps, but Ebenezer doesn't feel like celebrating. Her girlfriend of ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrutskie
Written by: Emily Skrutskie Release Date: February 8, 2016 Pages: 288, hardcover Series: The Abyss Surrounds Us, #1 Add on GoodReads Thank you to Flux and NetGalley for the ARC! For Cassandra Leung, bossing around sea monsters ...
READ MORE
Mini Review: Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
Written by: Brian Selznick Release Date: September 13th 2011 Pages: 640, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Ben and Rose secretly wish their lives were different. Ben longs for the father he has never known. Rose ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Lock and Mori by Heather Petty
Written by: Heather W. Petty Release Date: September 15, 2015 Pages: 256, hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads In modern-day London, two brilliant high school students—one Sherlock Holmes and a Miss James “Mori” Moriarty—meet. A murder ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush
Book Review: Ebenezer by JoSelle Vanderhooft
ARC Review: The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily
Mini Review: Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
ARC Review: Lock and Mori by Heather Petty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge