Q&A Review: Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry

Q&A

Written by: Katie McGarry
Release Date: July 31st 2012
Pages: 391, hardcover
Series: Pushing the Limits #1
Add on GoodReads

Book

“I won’t tell anyone, Echo. I promise.” Noah tucked a curl behind my ear. It had been so long since someone touched me like he did. Why did it have to be Noah Hutchins? His dark brown eyes shifted to my covered arms. “You didn’t do that-did you? It was done to you?” No one ever asked that question. They stared. They whispered. They laughed. But they never asked.

So wrong for each other…and yet so right.

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal. But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again..

1) Best Part of this Book?

This was the first Katie McGarry book I’d ever read (Yes I know okay), and I’m really really happy with it! I think the best part of this book for me was that it dealt with a lot of deep issues while still being a light and fluffy contemporary. The book didn’t rely on the old “Whoops misunderstanding now they’re broken up.” trope, which I’m really happy with.

2) Favorite character?

Echo was probably the greatest thing to ever happen. I loved and was thrilled with her character development. She was such a sweetheart and yet a fighter in her own way, she never even really realized she was a fighter. I saw so much of myself in her truthfully.

3) Worst part of this book?

I’m not completely sure on some of the believability of this book. But I think a lot of that was probably more on my lack of knowledge on things rather than the author’s lack of research. I’m not gonna go more in depth just incase I am wrong, I don’t want to be in the wrong here at all.

4) Favorite Quote?

“Because growing up means making tough choices, and doing the right thing doesn’t necessarily mean doing the thing that feels good.”

5) Was it what’s Expected?

Not at all! I expected the same old same old contemporary book, fluffy, cute, no real connection to the characters outside of just smiling like a moron at the end of the book, because it’s so fluffy. I didn’t expect to really love these characters and really root for their character growth. To really be excited by them growing up and changing

Pickup

Honestly I think this one falls more to you, the reader of this review. Because it was something so different you might not enjoy it if you enjoy contemporaries a lot. But I’m the person who is picky with my contemporaries. I’m really glad to see something hugely different in what I consider a pretty much always the same genre. I do know for me I’ll be picking up the rest of Katie’s books very soon.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: Soldier by Julie Kagawa
Written by: Julie Kagawa Release Date: April 26th 2016 Pages: 380, hardcover Series: Talon, #3 Add on GoodReads The price of freedom is everything. When forced to choose between safety with the dragon organization Talon and being ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Leveller by Julia Durango
Written by: Julia Durango Release Date: June 23, 2015 Pages: 256, Hardback Series: The Leveller, #1 Add on GoodReads Nixy Bauer is a self-made Leveller. Her job? Dragging kids out of virtual reality and back to their parents ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Book Review: On the Edge of Gone by Corinne Duyvis
Written by: Corinne Duyvis Release Date: March 8, 2016 Pages: 455, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads January 29, 2035. That’s the day the comet is scheduled to hit—the big one. Denise and her mother and ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
Written by: Nicola Yoon Release Date: September 1, 2015 Pages: 320, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to Delacorte for the ARC! This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Soldier by Julie Kagawa
Book Review: The Leveller by Julia Durango
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
Book Review: On the Edge of Gone by
ARC Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge