Book Review: Soldier by Julie Kagawa

BookReview

Written by: Julie Kagawa
Release Date: April 26th 2016
Pages: 380, hardcover
Series: Talon, #3
Add on GoodReads

Book
The price of freedom is everything.

When forced to choose between safety with the dragon organization Talon and being hunted forever as an outcast, Ember Hill chose to stand with Riley and his band of rogue dragons rather than become an assassin for Talon. She’s lost any contact with her twin brother, Dante, a Talon devotee, as well as Garret, the former-enemy soldier who challenged her beliefs about her human side.

As Ember and Riley hide and regroup to fight another day, Garret journeys alone to the United Kingdom, birthplace of the ancient and secret Order of St. George, to spy on his former brothers and uncover deadly and shocking secrets that will shake the foundations of dragons and dragonslayers alike and place them all in imminent danger as Talon’s new order rises.

LetsTalk

Ohh these Talon books. I know so many who have DNF’d them (My lovely co-blogger Polina for one). These books aren’t hard hitting ground breaking Throne of Glass type books. They just quite simply aren’t. But with all of that being said there is one more super important thing to say: I. Love. Them. When I was at TLA and they were giving out the finished copy of Soldier I waited in line for nearly an hour until they closed down the both to be handed it. I didn’t even care that the other booths were handing out arcs, I needed Dragons in my life.

I was not disappointed.

I should note here that I actually was able to keep spoilers pretty much out of this entire review so no matter what you can read this one.

This book was, pretty much as promised, Garret’s story, which I am always here for. Garret somehow is one of those characters that I just love and adore and I want to put him in a special padded room that keeps all authors away from him. Don’t ask me exactly what it is about him either, I’m not sure. But point is that I was thrilled to see so much of his past and what made him who he is.

But rather than this turning into another letter to Julie to leave Garret alone we’ll just move forward with the review.

Didn'tWork

So let’s be honest here there’s a reason why the series gets DNF’d a lot. We hinge on a Love Triangle more than Twilight does in these books. I’m still not sure where the love triangle is gonna go here because it isn’t obvious like a lot of books. I know where my heart is pulling me and I know where Kagawa had better go, but we’ll just wait and see I guess. In Soldier that gets brought to the front more than any other, we see Ember struggling with her choices from the last book, and maybe, maybe(?) making a choice. But with two more books to go it wouldn’t surprise me to see things spiraling again.

Since I am such a free floater with this book I let a lot of things slide, I have no doubt. I go into these books with low expectations and so it meets them every single time. Do I understand that a book like this has flaws? Oh lord yes. But do I let myself dwell on them while I’m reading them? Nope.

Once again Julie, that cliffhanger. I’m serious. You’d better fix this. FIX IT WOMAN.

DidWork

Alright so here’s the thing about these books. Take all of that Did Not Work stuff and put it with this. This book is the one that you can read while it’s raining outside and you just settle in with these characters, because even though things are rather simple, the truth is? The characters are wonderful, the plot is easy to follow and keep up with, it’s a simple little float along book. There is nothing I love more in this world than that….and dragons.

Dragons. Period. End of did work. Dragons. D R A G O N S.

Ember is finally making really smart choices, she’s starting to come into her own and she’s starting to realize this is a war and she’s gonna have to fight in it, but that doesn’t mean she has to lose herself while she fights in it. Yes she’s growing up, but she’s holding onto who she is in essence.

Pickup

So if you’ve made it to book three with Talon I highly doubt my words here will or won’t get you to pick up, especially after the cliffhanger that was Rogue. BUT if you haven’t picked up Talon? Try it out. Seriously. You might find a new series that you really love.

Sondra 

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Written by: Cassandra Clare Release Date: March 8th 2016 Pages: 668, hardcover Series:The Dark Artifices #1 Add on GoodReads In a kingdom by the sea… In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to fight ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Written by: Jennifer Lynn Barnes Release Date: July 7th 2015 Pages: 372, hardcover Series: The Fixer, #1 Add on GoodReads This thriller YA is Scandal meets Veronica Mars. Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin
Written by: Jeff Garvin Release Date: February 2, 2016 Pages: 352, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads The first thing you’re going to want to know about me is: Am I a boy, or am ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
Written by: Renee Ahdieh Release Date: May 12th 2015 Pages: 395, Hardback Series: The Wrath and the Dawn, #1 Add on GoodReads Thanks to TXLA for the chance to meet Renee and get an ARC of this book! A sumptuous and ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
Q&A Review: Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare
Q&A Review: The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Q&A Review: Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff
ARC Review: The Wrath and the Dawn by

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge