Mini Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman


Written by: Neil Gaiman
Release Date: October 23rd 2014
Pages: 69, Hardback
Series: Standalone
Add on GoodReads



A thrillingly reimagined fairy tale from the truly magical combination of author Neil Gaiman and illustrator Chris Riddell – weaving together a sort-of Snow White and an almost Sleeping Beauty with a thread of dark magic, which will hold readers spellbound from start to finish.

On the eve of her wedding, a young queen sets out to rescue a princess from an enchantment. She casts aside her fine wedding clothes, takes her chain mail and her sword and follows her brave dwarf retainers into the tunnels under the mountain towards the sleeping kingdom. This queen will decide her own future – and the princess who needs rescuing is not quite what she seems. Twisting together the familiar and the new, this perfectly delicious, captivating and darkly funny tale shows its creators at the peak of their talents.

Lavishly produced, packed with glorious Chris Riddell illustrations enhanced with metallic ink, this is a spectacular and magical gift.



So the only real reason I’m writing a review for this book is because I did it via audiobook, and the audiobook for this book was absolutely amazing. I got the audiobook from my library on a whim, I also wound up snagging the physical book since I knew it had a lot of art in it and I’m a bit of an art junkie. But I decided to try out the CD on the way home and I am so thrilled that I did!

The audiobook has a full cast, complete sounds, everything that becomes immersive to a story. It felt like it was coming alive around me in the car. The audiobook was only an hour long, but I just couldn’t get enough of it. I did come home and look at the art, but honestly? I feel like I got more from the audiobook than I would’ve gotten from reading the book. Which is really saying something.

I will say this about the actual book, the plot was absolutely fantastic. I thought it was going to go one way, and it went about five million other ways. It completely surprised me, which in a 60 page book? That’s saying something.

But if you’re gonna pick this one up, seriously, try and see if you can get it via audio, it was such an alive production.


Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh
Written by: Julie Eshbaugh Release Date: June 7, 2016 Pages: 384, hardcover Series: Ivory and Bone, #1 Add on GoodReads A prehistoric fantasy—with allusions to Pride and Prejudice. Hunting, gathering, and keeping his family safe—that’s the life seventeen-year-old ...
ARC Review: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
Written by: Heidi Heilig Release Date: February 16, 2016 Pages: 464, hardcover Series: The Girl From Everywhere, #1 Add on GoodReads Heidi Heilig’s debut teen fantasy sweeps from modern-day New York City to nineteenth-century Hawaii to places ...
Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  Written by: Sarah J. Maas Release Date: May 3rd 2016 Pages: 640, hardcover Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2 Add on GoodReads Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a ...
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
ARC Review: History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Written by: Adam Silvera Release Date: January 17, 2017 Pages: 320, hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo ...
ARC Review: Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh
ARC Review: The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi
Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
ARC Review: History is All You Left Me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge