Book Review: The Falconer by Elizabeth May

Written by: Elizabeth May
Release Date: September 19th 2013
Pages: 378, hardcover
Series: The Falconer, #1
Add on GoodReads

Book
One girl’s nightmare is this girl’s faery tale

She’s a stunner.
Edinburgh, 1844. Eighteen-year-old Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, has everything a girl could dream of: brains, charm, wealth, a title—and drop-dead beauty.

She’s a liar.
But Aileana only looks the part of an aristocratic young lady. she’s leading a double life: She has a rare ability to sense the sìthíchean—the faery race obsessed with slaughtering humans—and, with the aid of a mysterious mentor, has spent the year since her mother died learning how to kill them.

She’s a murderer.
Now Aileana is dedicated to slaying the fae before they take innocent lives. With her knack for inventing ingenious tools and weapons—from flying machines to detonators to lightning pistols—ruthless Aileana has one goal: Destroy the faery who destroyed her mother.

She’s a Falconer.
The last in a line of female warriors born with a gift for hunting and killing the fae, Aileana is the sole hope of preventing a powerful faery population from massacring all of humanity. Suddenly, her quest is a lot more complicated. She still longs to avenge her mother’s murder—but she’ll have to save the world first.

The first volume of a trilogy from an exciting new voice in young adult fantasy, this electrifying thriller combines romance and action, steampunk technology and Scottish lore in a deliciously addictive read.

LetsTalk

Wowza. This book. So there are few things I love more than anything else: High Fantasy. Scotland. Steapmunk. Throw in some magical creatures and I’m even happier. Guess what boxes The Falconer checks? That’s right. Every. Single. One. I am a little disappointed that this one didn’t become an instant favorite since it did hit all of my boxes, but honestly, after coming off of Six of Crows I’m not sure what else I expected. The fact that I love it as much as I do after Six of Crows is probably a testament to how great this book really is, now that I think about it.

I love girls who kick butt and take names, and when you put those girls in the tightly laced society of the Victorian era I love it more. One such of these heroines that I have to mention is of course Kestrel from The Winner’s Curse. But while Kestrel used her power in society to control any situation, Aileana fights back against society. She follows the rules she absolutely has to, she does what she can to save her reputation, but when it comes time for her duty? Screw society. It’s interesting to watch her deal with the fallout of these choices as the book moves along too. Because, well, there’s several such consequences…

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel by Sara Farizan
Written by: Sara Farizan Release Date: October 7, 2014 Pages: 304, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads High-school junior Leila has made it most of the way through Armstead Academy without having a crush on anyone, which ...
READ MORE
Mini Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman
Written by: Neil Gaiman Release Date: October 23rd 2014 Pages: 69, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads   A thrillingly reimagined fairy tale from the truly magical combination of author Neil Gaiman and illustrator Chris Riddell ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray
Written by: Libba Bray Release Date: August 25 2015 Pages: 624, Hardback Series: The Diviners, #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to Little, Brown Books for Young Readers and NetGalley for the e-ARC!!! After a supernatural showdown with a serial killer, ...
READ MORE
Q&A Review: We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
Written by: Shaun David Hutchinson Release Date: January 19, 2016 Pages: 455, hardcover Series: standalone Add on GoodReads There are a few things Henry Denton knows, and a few things he doesn’t. Henry knows that his ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Tell Me Again How a Crush
Mini Review: The Sleeper and the Spindle by
ARC Review: Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray
Q&A Review: We Are the Ants by Shaun
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge