Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Written by: Patrick Ness
Release Date: September 27, 2011
Pages: 205, Hardback
Series: Standalone
Add on GoodReads


The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.


This review will be pretty short, just as the book was pretty short, but I wanted to express my appreciation for the general amazingness of the story, so here we are! My review will almost definitely not do this book justice, but I want to scream about it a little anyway.

This book is not what I thought it would be from the cover, which seemed to scream “creepy horror story! do not read before bed time!” Really, it was more along the lines of “deeply upsetting story! do not read on public transportation!” (I did, in fact, read a significant part of it on public transportation). A Monster Calls is about a boy who is isolated and angry and hurting. It’s about grief and lies and truth and the power of stories. And even though the topics it deals with are painful, there are notes of optimism.

There’s a bit of a children’s-book feel in the writing, but it’s not really a children’s book, or at least, not just for children. A Monster Calls combines a fairy-tale-like tone with one of the most honest portrayals of grief and loss I have ever seen. It hurts, but in a good way, you know, and in a way that always feels genuine and not manufactured. The sentences are the kind that you reread over and over so they can get into your heart just right. The art is unique and beautiful and strengthens the effect of the words. The story is deeply human, powerful and memorable.


I usually have at least one or two nitpicks to put into this section. This time I have nothing, not even “I wanted more of ______”. This book was perfect pretty much the way it was.



I like the simplicity in this book. Or maybe that’s not the right word, because because behind the simple plot and writing are some beautifully portrayed complicated emotions, but anyway–this isn’t an “everything happens so much” type of book like so many others I’ve read this year. It’s quiet and personal, all the better to keep the focus on the emotions it evokes in the reader. I felt Conor’s pain, and his relationships with his mother and grandmother did things to my heart. And unlike some books, which almost seems to be pushing certain feelings on the reader, the writing here is very subtle and the emotions so raw and honest and effective.

I love this book’s emphasis on stories: their power, their sometimes-ambiguity, the truth they contain. “The power of words” is a pretty frequent theme in books, authors being authors, but the way it’s done in this book is incredibly memorable.

Stories are wild creatures, the monster said. When you let them loose, who knows what havoc they might wreak?

To tell the truth, it’s difficult for me to pick out individual things I love because this book works so well as a whole. The writing, in all its simplicity, is lovely and lyrical. I don’t think I can talk enough about how much I love it. Likewise, the illustrations are breathtaking.


Pick up. I don’t say this often, but A Monster Calls is a book that everyone definitely needs to read.


Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Written by: Jodi Meadows Release Date: April 5th 2016 Pages: 544, hardcover Series: The Orphan Queen, #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to Edelweiss for the ARC! Wilhelmina has a hundred enemies. HER FRIENDS HAVE TURNED. After her identity is revealed ...
Book Review: Talon by Julie Kagawa
Written by: Julie Kagawa Release Date: October 28th 2014 Pages: 461, Hardcover Series: Talon, 1 Add on GoodReads Long ago, dragons were hunted to near extinction by the Order of St. George, a legendary society of dragon ...
ARC Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae
Written by: Ava Jae Release Date: March 1, 2016 Pages: 360, hardcover Series: Standalone (I hope not, but that's what Goodreads says!) Add on GoodReads Thank you to Sky Pony Press and Edelweiss for the ...
ARC Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Written by: Melissa Grey Release Date: April 28, 2015 Pages: 368, Hardback Series: The Girl at Midnight, #1 Add on GoodReads Thanks to NetGalley and Randomhouse for this Galley! For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo'sShadow ...
ARC Review: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Written by: Ruta Sepetys Release Date: February 2nd, 2016 Pages: 400, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thank you to Philomel Books for the ARC! The author of Between Shades of Gray returns to WWII in this ...
ARC Review: The Mirror King by Jodi Meadows
Book Review: Talon by Julie Kagawa
ARC Review: Beyond the Red by Ava Jae
ARC Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa
ARC Review: Salt to the Sea by Ruta

One thought on “Book Review: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge