Book Review: The Sin Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury

Written by: Melinda Salisbury
Release Date: March 1, 2015
Pages: 336, Paperback
Series: The Sin Eater’s Daughter, #1 (However the series has not officially been picked up to continue)
Add on GoodReads

Book

I am the perfect weapon.
I kill with a single touch.

Twylla is blessed. The Gods have chosen her to marry a prince, and rule the kingdom. But the favour of the Gods has it’s price. A deadly poison infuses her skin. Those who anger the queen must die under Twylla’s fatal touch.

Only Lief, an outspoken new guard, can see past Twylla’s chilling role to the girls she truly is.

Yet in a court as dangerous and the queen’s, some truths should not be told…

LetsTalk

The Sin Eater’s Daughter follows Twylla , a girl who has the ability to kill people with her touch, this is because she’s a god embodied. Since she is Daunen Embodied she works for the royal family, killing traitors with her lethal touch. This has been her life ever since she was taken from her home, and training to follow in her mother’s footsteps as a Sin Eater. All of this leading up to her marrying the prince, since his royal blood protects him from her touch.

There are several plot twists that keep the Sin Eater’s Daughter crazy interesting, those I won’t get into here, to keep this spoiler free. But for me reading The Sin Eater’s Daughter was a very strange experience, I read the vast majority of this book right after getting it, sitting in a hotel room, I was vastly invested in the world and in the characters. The world was crazy interesting, and I found the characters rather likeable truthfully.

Then I got my hands on A Darker Shade of Magic, I’d planned on finishing The Sin Eater’s Daughter on the plane home, but I just…didn’t. ADSOM just sucked me in that hard(You can read my review of it here) then The Winner’s Curse came out(Review here) and finally I got back to The Sin Eater’s Daughter, and for some reason, the spark was gone.

Don’t get me wrong the world was still amazing, I still adored the world, but the characters weren’t as fleshed out as I remembered them. I can’t tell you if this is because I took a break to read two absolutely amazing books and come back, or if because I was on such a binge the book seemed better than it was.
Didn'tWork

When I first streamlined through the beginning of the book I liked the characters. But when I came back to this book suddenly all of the characters got on my nerves. Lief was always a character I could take or leave, I wasn’t sure if he was supposed to be the main love interest or not. I liked him alright as a character but I preferred Twylla with the Prince. But when I came back to this book? Both Twylla and Lief started to drive me crazy with their antics.

I didn’t mind them, I just didn’t…like them as much as I did.

Aspects of the world were just slightly overwhelming, there were a LOT of sins and their foods mentioned. I would’ve just liked some sort of index with all of them listed it would’ve just made the reading easier. We as readers aren’t required to keep up with all of the sins, but it felt like I should be remembering something I wasn’t whenever they were mentioned.

DidWork

The world of The Sin Eater’s Daughter is absolutely insane. It’s dark and deceptive, and there’s so much to it that just keep things so interesting. I adored the aspect Sin Eating itself, what an idea that alone is. I liked how it worked and how it was brought up throughout the story, it became clear that this world was just what the characters were used to, it was presented so simply, even though the ideas were so outlandish to us, no one made a comment, because it wasn’t a big deal to them. Luckily the world was easy to navigate, sometimes it can get a little overwhelming, but Salisbury kept things nice and easy going.

I did like the ending, I’ll admit it felt a bit rushed, and it was certainly open ended, but I liked how things were left. Things get left to the reader to figure out. The answers were there, the reader just got to pick them. I’m glad that since this book isn’t for sure picked up for a series it was left the way it was. Because the book could be left as a standalone.

Pickup

I did enjoy this book a lot. Even with my long break, and the awkwardness when I came back to it. If you don’t like open ended books you should certainly be warned. I do hope that this series gets picked up as a continuation, even though the author has already said it won’t focus on the same characters. I really would love to get back to this crazy, dark, world.

Sondra

Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey
Written by: Melissa Grey Release Date: April 28, 2015 Pages: 368, Hardback Series: The Girl at Midnight, #1 Add on GoodReads Thanks to NetGalley and Randomhouse for this Galley! For readers of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo'sShadow ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan
Written by: Sarah Rees Brennan Release Date: June 2, 2009 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Demon's Lexicon #1 Add on GoodReads Sixteen-year-old Nick and his brother, Alan, are always ready to run. Their father is dead, and their ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han
Written by: Jenny Han Release Date: May 26, 2015 Pages: 288, Hardback Series: To All the Boys I've Loved Before #2 Add on GoodReads Thanks to TXLA for this ARC! Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: I Am Princess X
Written by: Cherie Priest Release Date: May 26, 2015 Pages: 256, hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thanks to TXLA and Scholastic for this ARC! Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a long-lost girl ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson
Written by: Brandon Sanderson Release Date: September 24, 2013 Pages: 386, hardcover Series: Reckoners, #1 Add on GoodReads Ten years ago, Calamity came. It was a burst in the sky that gave ordinary men and women extraordinary ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: The Girl at Midnight by Melissa
Book Review: The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees
ARC Review: P.S. I Still Love You by
ARC Review: I Am Princess X
Book Review: Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge