ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Written by: Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 5, 2015
Pages: 432, hardcover
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #1
Add on GoodReads
My eternal thanks to NetGalley and Bloomsbury for this e-ARC!

Book
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

LetsTalk

I have been avoiding this review for a while, not because it was bad but because I simply don’t know what to say about this book. It was…the most amazing book. Seriously. I’ve always had a love of Beauty and the Beast, it’s been my go to movie when I’m sick for years. I watched it until my VHS broke, and then I got it for my birthday on DVD and I cherish it. I absolutely adore that movie, so finding out that A Court of Thorns and Roses was going to be a high fantasy Beauty and the Beast retelling? Oh I was down for it. Which isn’t even including the fact that it’s Sarah J. Maas. I only started reading her books this past summer and she quickly wound up on that list of authors that I will read anything she ever publishes, because wow can she write a story. This one is no different at all. Because in short? This book was epic. Truly. And I don’t even know what words to use for this review. That aren’t simply tears and images of me shoving this book into your hands.

Feyre was remarkable, I loved her strength and power, the fact that she could stand on her own as who she was. To put it simply she was badass. One of the greatest parts about reading Feyre was that not once did she feel like a copy of Celaena, when it would have been very easy to make these two characters very similar. The story gives us a nice slow rolling start to introduce us to the world and Feyre’s world and life. Which I liked, some stories throw you into the middle of the story trying to remember who was who, and what was this world again? But as the story rolled, man it rolled. Especially once Tamlin showed up. I’ve always had a crush on the Beast, and Tamlin easily stole my heart, he was so great, especially in the beginning. He was sweet, and hot, and frankly adorable, and kind and everything anyone is looking for in these kinds of books.

Didn'tWork

I remember thinking with Throne of Glass “She packed so much into this book she could’ve made just this plot the entirety of her series! Where is she GOING with this?” I had the exact same moment with A Court of Thorns and Roses. There’s a large plot twist right around the 75% mark, and I’m pretty sure a large majority of authors would have ended it there. It would’ve been an amazing cliffhanger that had people dying for the next book. Instead Sarah kept going. Now I’m putting this in what didn’t work because it felt like a second book added to the first. If you look from where the book started to where the book ended I’m pretty sure some authors could’ve done that much character growth over a series. All of that being said, it’s not in the Didn’t Work because I didn’t like it, in fact, I loved the plotline, I loved seeing it all come to a conclusion, I loved where Sarah pushed this book. Because it was a great, amazing ending.

DidWork

The Beauty and the Beast parts of this book were, without a doubt, my absolute favorite parts. There were moments when I would see exactly where Sarah was going, exactly where in the movie we were and I would get so excited. At one point I nearly started screaming because I knew and it made my heart race and it made me so freaking happy. Ugh, guys, I can’t gush enough about this book. I do like the twists that Sarah put on the original story, without giving to much away Feyre doesn’t get a library in this one, but trust me, it’s just as perfect and sweet and, yes.

I loved how Sarah ended this book too, yes I know I mentioned the ending earlier in the didn’t work, but like I said there I liked how much she packed into the book because I know it’s just setting up for something else, something even more amazing. It also made the reader realize that while A Court of Thorns and Roses is starting as a Beauty and the Beast retelling, she is stepping far, far away from the fairy tale as she continues forward with the trilogy, and I’m so excited to see where it goes. Because she paid so close attention to the story that she wrapped it up, she completed Beauty and the Beast, and now it’s time for Sarah’s story to take over and for her to take Tamlin and Feyre outside of the storybook box and I just can’t wait for the rest of this series.

I’ve gushed this much and I haven’t even talked about secondary characters. I know, I know, this review is already getting out of hand but I feel if I don’t mention my love for Lucian I’m just not doing this book justice. Lucian was such a strong character he didn’t even feel secondary. I know he was because this is Feyre and Tamlin’s story but he was so amazingly great. He captured my love as much as Tamlin did, and that’s saying something my friends. It’s really saying something.

Side note: Chapter 27. I’m not saying anything more than that. Just…Chapter 27.

Pickup

If you can read through my fangirling here it is pretty obvious that I LOVED THIS BOOK. I loved the Beauty and the Beast elements and I loved the story, and I loved the characters and… Just get this book on Tuesday. Be outside of Barnes & Noble when they open. Then do like I did and not move the entire day and read it in one sitting.

Sondra

Other Posts You Might Like
Book Review: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
Written by: Marie Rutkoski Release Date: March 3, 2015 Pages: 208, Hardback Series: The Winner's Trilogy, #2 Add on GoodReads Book two of the dazzling Winner's Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Calling by David Gaider
Written by: David Gaider Release Date: October 9, 2009 Pages: 444, paperback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Dragon Age: The Calling by David Gaider is another thrilling prequel to Dragon Age: Origins, the hit role-playing video ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: What We Left Behind by Robin Talley
Written by: Robin Talley Release Date: October 27, 2015 Pages: 416, hardcover Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Thank you to Harlequin Teen for sending me an ARC! From the critically acclaimed author of Lies We Tell Ourselves comes ...
READ MORE
Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
  Written by: Sarah J. Maas Release Date: May 3rd 2016 Pages: 640, hardcover Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2 Add on GoodReads Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman
Written by: Neal Shusterman Release Date: April 21, 2015 Pages: 320, Hardback Series: Standalone Add on GoodReads Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
Book Review: The Calling by David Gaider
ARC Review: What We Left Behind by Robin
Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury
Book Review: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

One thought on “ARC Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I agree with you about the plot twist at the end. It felt like a different book. Too me though, it dragged down the book. The pacing of it was just off. That being said, I did like it and I’m interested in seeing where she takes it. I just didn’t love it as much as her other series.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge