Book Review: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

Written by: Marissa Meyer
Release Date: January 27, 2015
Pages: 222, hardcover
Series: The Lunar Chronicles, #0.5
Add on GoodReads

Book
In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told.

Mirror, mirror on the wall,
Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.

Marissa Meyer spins yet another unforgettable tale about love and war, deceit and death. This extraordinary book includes full-color art and an excerpt from Winter, the next book in the Lunar Chronicles series.

LetsTalk

The Lunar Chronicles is one of my all time favorite series (second really only to Harry Potter) so when this book was first announced I was beyond excited, and then it was announced that it would push Winter to November 2015 my excitement plummeted. As hard as I tried I never got that pre-release excitement to grow as the date got closer, it just never happened. All I really wanted was Winter. I really tried to not let this color my reading of Fairest, but I’m not completely sure that I succeeded.

When I first heard about this book I thought that it would change the way I viewed Levana. I thought that I would pity her and then I would fall in love with her. That I would go into Winter and suddenly she wouldn’t be the evil queen anymore, but a soul that I felt bad for, that I rooted for because I wanted to even see happy. (Think Regina from Once Upon A Time). But then, reading Fairest…yes, it changed how I feel about Levana, but not in a way of loving her, or even feeling sorry for her. If anything, I’m more terrified of her than I ever was. Levana truly believes that if she can just do _____ she will be happy. Fill in the blank as the story goes along, you’ll see what I mean. If she can just get the love of the man she loves, she will be happy. If she can just get Channery to care, she will be happy. The story goes on and on this way and each time you think to yourself if Levana could just settle down, if she could just stop and look around, she really truly would have been happy.

Didn'tWork

While I enjoyed Levana’s story, and I liked getting to know her and see how she grew up. I felt like there was something…missing. With The Lunar Chronicles there is this spark that makes the books something special, something far more than just words on a page. I don’t know what it is about these books but there’s something. It makes me have to fight not to pick up Scarlet every other book, it makes me want to reread my copies until they fall apart. Fairest was missing it.

Oh it was a perfectly fine book, I really enjoyed it and I’m happy that I read it. But, there was just something missing from Fairest and sitting here I couldn’t tell you what it was. I don’t know if it was because the book was supposed to be darker because we’re watching Levana’s life go downhill bit by bit. Or if it’s because there isn’t the cute adorable romance that has me so happy it hurts… I really truly can’t tell you what it is that was missing from this book, but something was missing.

DidWork

I loved getting to see Levana growing up, and I adored getting to see Channary and who she was. If Fairest changed anything about my view of the TLC world it was how I viewed Channary. I really adored the subtle throwbacks to the current books, things that would make readers happy and seeing Winter as a child was wonderful (especially her interactions with Jacin, and knowing where that is gonna go). I liked seeing that Levana had reasons for what she did but all of the reasons were very, very wrong.

One thing I absolutely adored about the book, was the four chapters of Winter at the end. I felt more feels from that four chapters than the entirety of Fairest so…I’m not sure what that says about the book. I won’t get into the chapters here, not because they weren’t part of the book, but because any professionalism you might expect from me will go downhill quickly. (Side note: apparently Target and Kindle versions were the only ones to get four chapters, everywhere else had three).

Pickup

If you like The Lunar Chronicles absolutely you should go get this one! Just don’t expect that amazing wonderful amazing feeling that you get from reading the other books.

Sondra

Other Posts You Might Like
ARC Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Written by: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff Release Date: October 20, 2015 Pages: 608, Hardback Series: The Illuminae Files, #1 Add on GoodReads Thanks to RandomHouse for the ARC! This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
Written by: Maggie Hall Release Date: January 13, 2015 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: The Conspiracy of Us, #1 Add on GoodReads A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance--perfect for fans of Ally Carter Avery West's newfound ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
Written by: Sarah J Maas Release Date: September 2nd 2014 Pages: 562, Hardcover Series: Throne of Glass #3 Add on GoodReads Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: ...
READ MORE
Book Review: Half Bad by Sally Green
Written by: Sally Green Release Date: March 4, 2014 Pages: 336, Hardback Series: Half Bad Trilogy, #1 Add on GoodReads Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where ...
READ MORE
Book Review: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
Written by: Marie Rutkoski Release Date: March 3, 2015 Pages: 208, Hardback Series: The Winner's Trilogy, #2 Add on GoodReads Book two of the dazzling Winner's Trilogy is a fight to the death as Kestrel risks betrayal of ...
READ MORE
ARC Review: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay
Book Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie
Book Review: Heir of Fire by Sarah J.
Book Review: Half Bad by Sally Green
Book Review: The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge